Achille Laugé. Neo-Impressionism in the Light of the South
24.06 – 30.10.2022

The Fondation de l’Hermitage is hosting Switzerland’s first major retrospective of the French painter Achille Laugé (1861-1944). This fascinating artist followed his own unique path within the Neo-Impressionist movement, always remaining deeply attached to his native region of Occitania. The exhibition includes almost eighty works from every period in his career, highlighting the profound originality and extraordinary sensibility of this painter of everyday life. Laugé was inspired by his immediate surroundings and portrayed the area around his house in Cailhau, the flowers in his garden, his family and friends with great simplicity and elegance. His very pure technique involved juxtaposing the three primary colours in dots or lattices in a highly personal variation on the divisionist method.

Discovering neo-impressionism
Laugé was born into a family of peasant farmers and studied pharmacy before a change of direction took him to art school in Toulouse. There he made friends with Antoine Bourdelle, before continuing his studies in Paris, where he shared Aristide Maillol’s studio. At the Salon des Indépendants of 1886 Laugé came upon Georges Seurat’s manifesto painting A Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte, which proved a revelation. By the time he returned to Carcassonne in 1892, Laugé was a convert to the technique of pure divided colour.

Unusual sensitivity
Through extensive experimentation, alone in the dazzling light of southern France, Laugé made the colour theory of Seurat and Signac his own. His profoundly original work demonstrates his intuition of colour in magnificent still lifes where bunches of poppies and marguerites appear alongside ripe fruit and branches of almond blossom. Laugé’s painting is an “art of heightened sensibility”, as noted by his friend Bourdelle.

Geometry, perspective and light
Like Monet and his cathedrals, Laugé painted in series, endlessly depicting the roads around Cailhau. In rigorously constructed landscapes he sought to render nuances of light and the passing of the seasons in the detail of their variations. He walked the roads with the “studio-caravan” he had designed for painting from nature, creating pure compositions that radiate a gentle sense of calm, with a highly geometrical sense of composition and an interest in emptiness.

The strict technique that characterised Laugé’s portraits of the years1896-1899 combines with the delicacy found in all his work. In the period 1905-1910 his brushwork became more fluid, still using the same reduced palette of pure colours. In the 1920s and 30s he spent the summer in Collioure, the centre for turn-of-the-century colourists. Laugé died in 1944, having never stopped working, cultivating his singular palette and his resolutely vibrant, free brushwork.

Sponsors

Fondations mécènes & Institutions publiques

Partenaires culturels

Partenaires médias

Catalogue

Achille Laugé

Sous la direction de Sylvie Wuhrmann et Nicole Tamburini
Publié en coédition avec les Éditions Snoeck, Gand
144 pages, 24 × 29 cm, 113 illustrations
CHF 38.-

Order

Poster

Achille Laugé

Format mondial F4 (89,5 × 128 cm)
Œuvre : Achille Laugé, L’arbre en fleur, 1893
Design graphique : Balmer Hählen
CHF 20.-

Order

Documents to download

Achille Laugé. Der Neoimpressionismus im Licht des Südens
24.06 – 30.10.2022

Die Fondation de l’Hermitage widmet dem französischen Maler Achille Laugé (1861–1944) eine grosse Retrospektive – eine Premiere in der Schweiz. Der eng mit seiner okzitanischen Heimat verbundene Künstler fasziniert durch seinen besonderen Werdegang innerhalb der neoimpressionistischen Bewegung. Die Ausstellung, die fast achtzig Werke vereint und alle Schaffensphasen Laugés veranschaulicht, beleuchtet die ausgeprägte Originalität dieses von ungewöhnlicher Sensibilität beseelten Malers des Alltags. Raffiniert und einfach zugleich, nimmt er sein unmittelbares Umfeld zum Gegenstand: die Umgebung seines Hauses in Cailhau, die Blumen in seinem Garten oder die Porträts seiner Verwandten. Mit seiner reinen Technik, die durch die in kleinen Punkten oder Gitternetzen nebeneinandergesetzten drei Grundfarben gekennzeichnet ist, macht er sich auf sehr persönliche Weise die divisionistische Methode zu eigen.

Aufschwung des Neoimpressionismus
In eine Bauernfamilie geboren, bricht Laugé sein Pharmaziestudium zugunsten der Kunstakademie in Toulouse ab, wo er sich mit Antoine Bourdelle anfreundet, bevor er seine Studien in Paris fortsetzt und im Atelier von Aristide Maillol arbeitet. Im Jahr 1886 entdeckt er im Salon des Indépendants das Gemälde Ein Sonntag auf der Insel La Grande Jatte von Georges Seurat, für ihn eine wahre Offenbarung. 1892 nach Carcassonne zurückgekehrt, bekehrt er sich zur geteilten reinen Farbe.

Künstler von seltener Sensibilität
Im Alleingang eignet sich Laugé im gleissenden Licht des Südens mittels zahlreicher Experimente die Farbtheorie von Seurat und Signac an. Mit seinem eigenständigen Charakter und seinem Gespür für Farbe malt er prächtige Stillleben, in denen Sträusse aus Mohn und Margeriten neben reifen Früchten und blühenden Mandelbaumzweigen stehen. Achille Laugé bringt laut seinem Freund Bourdelle eine «Kunst der bewegten Sensibilität» zum Ausdruck.

Geometrie, Perspektive und Licht
Wie Monet vor seinen Kathedralen arbeitet Laugé in Serien und stellt immer wieder die Strassen von Cailhau dar. In diesen streng konstruierten Landschaften bemüht er sich, die Nuancen des Lichts und den Wechsel der Jahreszeiten in ihren kleinsten Variationen wiederzugeben. Auf den Strassen, die der Künstler mit dem von ihm entworfenen «Atelierwagen» befährt, um vor dem Motiv zu arbeiten, schafft er Kompositionen in einem raffinierten Stil, die ein sanftes Gefühl der Ruhe, einen geometrischen Sinn für Komposition und eine ausgeprägte Vorliebe für die Leere erkennen lassen.

Die strenge Technik, die für die Bildnisse der Jahre 1896 bis 1899 charakteristisch ist, geht Hand in Hand mit der Zartheit, die das Werk von Achille Laugé auszeichnet. Um 1905–1910 wird sein Pinselstrich weicher, doch verwendet der Maler weiterhin eine reduzierte Palette mit reinen Farben. In den 1920er- und 1930er-Jahren verbringt er die Sommer in Collioure, dem Mekka der Koloristen der Jahrhundertwende. Laugé stirbt 1944, ohne je das Malen aufzugeben und dabei stets die Besonderheit seiner Palette und die Freiheit seines lebendigen Strichs zu pflegen.

Sponsors

Fondations mécènes & Institutions publiques

Partenaires culturels

Partenaires médias

Katalog

Achille Laugé

Sous la direction de Sylvie Wuhrmann et Nicole Tamburini
Publié en coédition avec les Éditions Snoeck, Gand
144 pages, 24 × 29 cm, 113 illustrations
CHF 38.-

Bestellen

Poster

Achille Laugé

Format mondial F4 (89,5 × 128 cm)
Œuvre : Achille Laugé, L’arbre en fleur, 1893
Design graphique : Balmer Hählen
CHF 20.-

Bestellen

Herunterladen