Manguin. La volupté de la couleur
22.06 – 28.10.2018

In the summer of 2018 the Fondation de l’Hermitage is presenting a major exhibition of the work of Henri Manguin (1874-1949), an artist who loved colour and whom the poet Apollinaire called the “voluptuous painter”. The main focus will be on Manguin’s early career and notably his Fauvist period, when he shared the audacity of his fellow artists in that group and sometimes outdid them in the quest for new means of expression through the use of colour. With their sumptuous chromatic harmonies, the paintings from this period reflect Manguin’s rare talent and creativity.

Manguin met Albert Marquet and Henri Matisse in Paris in 1892, while he was training at the Ecole des Arts décoratifs. In November 1894 the three young painters enrolled at the Ecole des Beaux-Arts, where they worked in Gustave Moreau’s studio, and joined forces with André Derain et Maurice de Vlaminck to form a group that acquired the name “Fauves” – meaning “wild beasts” – at the Autumn Salon of 1905. Manguin’s work always expresses a happy sensuality, his subjects of choice being nudes, Mediterranean landscapes, domestic scenes and still lifes, all genres that express the joys of being alive.

The exhibition features around a hundred works, including oil paintings, watercolours and drawings. The first section explores Manguin’s formative period, when his work soon stood out for the organisation of colour in his compositions. After this the focus will be on the Fauvist period with works created in Saint-Tropez, their intense colours reflecting the dazzling surroundings of the Mediterranean. These flamboyant works – mostly nudes and Arcadian landscapes – convey Manguin’s sense of exaltation at the natural paradise around him, which carried his art to its peak. A set of drawings and watercolours illustrate his early use of those techniques, which played a key role in the quest for compositional balance and the liberation of colour at the dawn of the 20th century.

This exhibition is the fruit of a partnership with the Musée des impressionnismes Giverny, who hosted its first part from 14 July to 5 November 2017.

Back in pictures

Catalog

Manguin. La volupté de la couleur

Sous la direction de Sylvie Wuhrmann et Marina Ferretti Bocquillon
Publié en coédition avec Les Éditions Gallimard, Paris
168 pages, 24 x 29 cm, 150 illustrations

Poster

Manguin. La volupté de la couleur

Format mondial F4 (89,5 × 128 cm)
Œuvre : Henri Manguin La sieste ou Le rocking chair, Jeanne (détail), 1905
Design graphique : Laurent Cocchi

 

Documents to download

Manguin. La volupté de la couleur
22.06 – 28.10.2018

Die Fondation de l’Hermitage zeigt eine grosse Ausstellung zu Henri Manguin (1874–1949). Sie zeichnet die ersten Jahre der künstlerischen Laufbahn dieses Liebhabers der Farbe oder «sinnlichen Malers» nach, wie ihn der Dichter Apollinaire nannte. Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf der fauvistischen Periode, in der Manguin, auf der Suche nach neuen Ausdrucksmitteln mit Farbe, sich den Kühnheiten seiner Malerfreunde anschliesst und diese manchmal sogar vorwegnimmt. Mit ihren prachtvollen Farbharmonien zeugen die Gemälde aus dieser Zeit vom aussergewöhnlichen Talent und Erfindungsreichtum des Künstlers.

An der Ecole des Arts décoratifs lernt Manguin 1892 Albert Marquet und Henri Matisse kennen. Im November 1894 treten sie als Studenten der Ecole des Beaux-Arts ins Atelier von Gustave Moreau ein. Sie bilden eine Gruppe junger Maler, die gemeinsam mit André Derain und Maurice de Vlaminck am Herbstsalon von 1905 den Namen «Fauvisten» erhalten wird. Die bevorzugten Sujets Manguins, der das Sinnenglück zum Ausdruck bringen möchte, sind Akte, Mittelmeerlandschaften, Szenen des Familienlebens und Stillleben, allesamt Hommagen an die Lebensfreude.

Die rund hundert Werke (Gemälde, Aquarelle und Zeichnungen) zählende Ausstellung beginnt mit einem Teil zur Ausbildung des Malers, der sich schon sehr früh durch die Farbgebung seiner Kompositionen auszeichnet. In der Folge wird die fauvistische Periode präsentiert mit in Saint-Tropez entstandenen Werken, deren intensiven Farben das Licht des Mittelmeers widerspiegeln. Diese leuchtenden Gemälde – hauptsächlich Akte und arkadische Landschaften – veranschaulichen Manguins Begeisterung und künstlerische Entfaltung inmitten einer paradiesischen Landschaft. Eine Reihe Zeichnungen und Aquarelle illustrieren Manguins sehr frühe Nutzung dieser Techniken. Sie sind für den ausgewogenen Bildaufbau und die Befreiung der Farbe entscheidend, die er zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts anstrebt.

Die Veranstaltung ist das Resultat einer Zusammenarbeit mit dem Musée des impressionnismes Giverny, wo vom 14. Juli bis 5. November 2017 eine erste Etappe der Ausstellung zu sehen war.

Zurück in Bildern

Katalog

Manguin. La volupté de la couleur

Sous la direction de Sylvie Wuhrmann et Marina Ferretti Bocquillon
Publié en coédition avec Les Éditions Gallimard, Paris
168 pages, 24 x 29 cm, 150 illustrations

Affiche

Manguin. La volupté de la couleur

Format mondial F4 (89,5 × 128 cm)
Œuvre : Henri Manguin La sieste ou Le rocking chair, Jeanne (détail), 1905
Design graphique : Laurent Cocchi

 

Dokumente zum herunterladen