Achille Laugé. Neo-Impressionism in the Light of the South
24.06 – 30.10.2022

The Fondation de l’Hermitage is hosting Switzerland’s first major retrospective of the French painter Achille Laugé (1861-1944). This fascinating artist followed his own unique path within the Neo-Impressionist movement, always remaining deeply attached to his native region of Occitania. The exhibition includes almost eighty works from every period in his career, highlighting the profound originality and extraordinary sensibility of this painter of everyday life. Laugé was inspired by his immediate surroundings and portrayed the area around his house in Cailhau, the flowers in his garden, his family and friends with great simplicity and elegance. His very pure technique involved juxtaposing the three primary colours in dots or lattices in a highly personal variation on the divisionist method.

Discovering neo-impressionism
Laugé was born into a family of peasant farmers and studied pharmacy before a change of direction took him to art school in Toulouse. There he made friends with Antoine Bourdelle, before continuing his studies in Paris, where he shared Aristide Maillol’s studio. At the Salon des Indépendants of 1886 Laugé came upon Georges Seurat’s manifesto painting A Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte, which proved a revelation. By the time he returned to Carcassonne in 1892, Laugé was a convert to the technique of pure divided colour.

Unusual sensitivity
Through extensive experimentation, alone in the dazzling light of southern France, Laugé made the colour theory of Seurat and Signac his own. His profoundly original work demonstrates his intuition of colour in magnificent still lifes where bunches of poppies and marguerites appear alongside ripe fruit and branches of almond blossom. Laugé’s painting is an “art of heightened sensibility”, as noted by his friend Bourdelle.

Geometry, perspective and light
Like Monet and his cathedrals, Laugé painted in series, endlessly depicting the roads around Cailhau. In rigorously constructed landscapes he sought to render nuances of light and the passing of the seasons in the detail of their variations. He walked the roads with the “studio-caravan” he had designed for painting from nature, creating pure compositions that radiate a gentle sense of calm, with a highly geometrical sense of composition and an interest in emptiness.

The strict technique that characterised Laugé’s portraits of the years1896-1899 combines with the delicacy found in all his work. In the period 1905-1910 his brushwork became more fluid, still using the same reduced palette of pure colours. In the 1920s and 30s he spent the summer in Collioure, the centre for turn-of-the-century colourists. Laugé died in 1944, having never stopped working, cultivating his singular palette and his resolutely vibrant, free brushwork.

Sponsors

Fondations mécènes & Institutions publiques

Partenaires culturels

Partenaires médias

Catalogue

Achille Laugé

Sous la direction de Sylvie Wuhrmann et Nicole Tamburini
Publié en coédition avec les Éditions Snoeck, Gand
144 pages, 24 × 29 cm, 113 illustrations
CHF 38.-

Order

Poster

Achille Laugé

Format mondial F4 (89,5 × 128 cm)
Œuvre : Achille Laugé, L’arbre en fleur, 1893
Design graphique : Balmer Hählen
CHF 20.-

Order

Documents to download

Achille Laugé. Le néo-impressionnisme dans la lumière du Sud
24.06 – 30.10.2022

La Fondation de l’Hermitage consacre une grande rétrospective au peintre français Achille Laugé (1861-1944) – une première en Suisse. Artiste profondément attaché à l’Occitanie, dont il est originaire, Laugé fascine par son parcours singulier au sein du mouvement néo-impressionniste. L’exposition, qui réunit près de quatre-vingts œuvres et couvre toute la carrière de Laugé, met en lumière l’originalité profonde de ce peintre du quotidien, mû par une sensibilité exceptionnelle. Raffiné et simple à la fois, il prend pour sujet son environnement immédiat : les alentours de sa maison à Cailhau, les fleurs de son jardin, les portraits de ses proches. Avec sa technique très pure, caractérisée par les trois couleurs primaires juxtaposées en petits points ou en treillis, il s’approprie de manière très personnelle la méthode divisionniste.

Éclosion du néo-impressionnisme
Issu d’une famille paysanne, Laugé abandonne ses études en pharmacie au profit de l’École des beaux-arts de Toulouse, où il se lie avec Antoine Bourdelle, avant de poursuivre son apprentissage à Paris et de partager l’atelier d’Aristide Maillol. En 1886, au Salon des Indépendants, Laugé découvre le tableau manifeste de Georges Seurat, Un dimanche après-midi à l’île de la Grande Jatte, véritable révélation pour lui. En 1892, de retour à Carcassonne, il se convertit à la couleur pure divisée.

Un artiste d’une rare sensibilité
Seul devant l’éblouissante lumière méridionale, Laugé s’approprie, au gré de nombreuses expérimentations, la théorie des couleurs de Seurat et de Signac. Affichant un caractère profondément original qui dénote son intuition de la couleur, il réalise de somptueuses natures mortes où les bouquets de coquelicots et de marguerites voisinent avec les fruits mûrs et les branches d’amandiers en fleurs. Achille Laugé exprime cet « art de sensibilité émue » que relève son ami Bourdelle.

Géométrie, perspective et lumière
Tel Monet devant ses cathédrales, Laugé travaille sur des séries, représentant inlassablement les routes de Cailhau. Dans ces paysages rigoureusement construits, il s’attache à rendre les nuances de la lumière, le passage des saisons dans leurs plus infimes variations. Arpentant ces routes avec la « roulotte-atelier » qu’il avait conçue pour travailler sur le motif, l’artiste crée des compositions au style épuré desquelles se dégagent un doux sentiment de tranquillité, un sens de la composition très géométrique et un goût prononcé pour le vide.

La technique stricte caractéristique des portraits des années 1896 à 1899 va de pair avec la délicatesse qui imprègne l’œuvre d’Achille Laugé. Vers 1905-1910, il assouplit sa touche, tout en continuant à utiliser une palette réduite aux couleurs pures. Les années 1920 et 1930 le voient passer les étés à Collioure, haut-lieu des coloristes du tournant du siècle. Laugé meurt en 1944, sans avoir jamais cessé de travailler, cultivant la particularité de sa palette et la liberté de sa touche résolument vibrante.

Sponsors

Fondations mécènes & Institutions publiques

Partenaires culturels

Partenaires médias

Catalogue

Achille Laugé

Sous la direction de Sylvie Wuhrmann et Nicole Tamburini
Publié en coédition avec les Éditions Snoeck, Gand
144 pages, 24 × 29 cm, 113 illustrations
CHF 38.-

Commander

Affiche

Achille Laugé

Format mondial F4 (89,5 × 128 cm)
Œuvre : Achille Laugé, L’arbre en fleur, 1893
Design graphique : Balmer Hählen
CHF 20.-

Commander

Documents à télécharger