Chefs-d’œuvre de la collection Bemberg
02.03 – 30.05.2021

In the first half of the year 2021, the Fondation de l’Hermitage has the priviledge to show a selection of the greatest masterpieces from the prestigious private collection of Georges Bemberg (1915-2011). Bemberg was an illustrious collector and man of letters, born to a family of German origin who settled in Argentina in the mid-19th century. In the course of his life he built up one of the most important collections of paintings, drawings and objets d’art of his day.

It is the first time that the collection is shown outside the walls of the Fondation Bemberg in Toulouse, due to major works at the mansion where it is usually displayed. The Bemberg collection is notable for the exceptional quality of both its group of paintings and drawings from the late 19th and early 20th centuries (Fantin-Latour, Pissarro, Monet, Caillebotte, Morisot, Derain, Braque, Matisse, Modigliani, Bonnard and others) and also for its magnificent works from earlier periods, including masterpieces of German, Flemish, Venetian and French art (Cranach the Elder, Gérard David, Veronese, Canaletto, Longhi, François Clouet, Tournier, Vigée Le Brun and others).

The exhibition at the Fondation de l’Hermitage is featuring 132 of the most remarkable paintings and drawings from the Bemberg collection, offering a unique opportunity to admire these treasures outside their usual setting and to explore the interests and personality of one of the 20th century’s great collectors.

Exhibition themes
The exhibition covers over five hundred years of art history, arranged in chronological order. It starts with a room dedicated to Flemish and French paintings of the 15th and 16th centuries, including works by Gérard David, Isenbrandt, Clouet (François and Jean) and Corneille de Lyon. A magnificent group of Italian paintings from the 16th, 17th and 18th centuries offers visitors the chance to admire portraits and landscapes by artists including Veronese, Tintoretto, Guardi, Canaletto. Another high point of the visit is the display of five panels by Cranach the Elder. The section focusing on works from the earlier periods closes in grand style with a selection of 18th century masterpieces by Robert, Vigée-Le Brun and Boilly.

The Bemberg collection is equally noteworthy for its important works of 19th and 20th century art and the exhibition continues with a remarkable group of paintings by Impressionist (Caillebotte, Sisley, Monet, Degas, Toulouse-Lautrec) and neo-Impressionist (Cross, Signac) artists, reflecting Bemberg’s appreciation for these two artistic movements. Another important element of the collection consists of works from the early 20th century avant-garde, with wonderful drawings (Picasso, Modigliani) and Fauvist paintings by Derain, Braque and Matisse. The exhibition concludes with an extraordinary set of paintings by Bonnard, as the Bemberg collection includes indeed the largest group of Bonnard’s works in private hands, with over thirty paintings.

Back in pictures

Catalog

Chefs-d’œuvre de la collection Bemberg

Sous la direction de Philippe Cros
Publié en coédition avec les Éditions Snoeck, Gand
208 pages, 24 x 29 cm, 132 illustrations

Poster

Chefs-d’œuvre de la collection Bemberg

Format mondial F4 (89,5 × 128 cm)
Œuvre : Pierre Bonnard, Marine (détail), sans date
Design graphique : Laurent Cocchi

Documents to download

Chefs-d’œuvre de la collection Bemberg
02.03 – 30.05.2021

Au premier semestre 2021, la Fondation de l’Hermitage a le privilège de dévoiler une sélection des plus grands chefs-d’œuvre de la prestigieuse collection privée de Georges Bemberg (1915-2011). Né dans une famille d’origine allemande installée en Argentine au milieu du 19e siècle, l’illustre collectionneur et homme de lettres a réuni, tout au long de sa vie, un ensemble de peintures, de dessins et d’objets d’art comptant parmi les plus importants de son temps.

Habituellement présentée dans un hôtel particulier de Toulouse, cette collection est pour la première fois exposée hors des murs de la Fondation Bemberg, à l’occasion d’importants travaux de rénovation du musée. Cet ensemble se distingue par la qualité exceptionnelle de ses toiles et dessins de la fin du 19e et du début du 20e siècle (Fantin-Latour, Pissarro, Monet, Caillebotte, Morisot, Derain, Braque, Matisse, Modigliani, Bonnard…), mais également par la splendeur de ses peintures anciennes. Elle compte ainsi des chefs-d’œuvre de l’art allemand, flamand, vénitien et français (Cranach l’Ancien, Gérard David, Véronèse, Canaletto, Longhi, François Clouet, Tournier, Vigée Le Brun…).

L’exposition de la collection Bemberg à la Fondation de l’Hermitage réunira 132 peintures et dessins parmi les plus remarquables de ce fonds, une occasion unique d’admirer ces trésors hors de leur écrin habituel, et de découvrir le goût et la personnalité d’un des grands collectionneurs du 20e siècle.

Thématiques de l’exposition
L’exposition parcourt plus de cinq siècles d’histoire de l’art, et s’articule de manière chronologique. Elle débute avec une salle consacrée à la peinture flamande et française des 15e et 16e siècles, qui réunit des œuvres dues à Gérard David, Isenbrandt, Clouet (François et Jean), ou encore Corneille de Lyon. Un somptueux ensemble de peintures italiennes des 16e, 17e et 18e siècles permet ensuite au public d’admirer des portraits et paysages de la main de Véronèse, Tintoret, Guardi, Canaletto… La présentation de cinq huiles sur panneau de Cranach l’Ancien constitue un autre point fort du parcours. Une sélection de chefs-d’œuvre du Siècle des lumières, réalisés par Robert, Vigée-Le Brun ou encore Boilly ponctuera magistralement la sélection de peinture ancienne.

La collection Bemberg se distinguant également par l’importance de ses œuvres des 19e et 20e siècles, l’exposition se poursuit avec un remarquable corpus de peintures impressionnistes (Caillebotte, Sisley, Monet, Degas, Toulouse-Lautrec) et néo-impressionnistes (Cross, Signac), qui rend compte de l’attachement du collectionneur pour ces mouvements artistiques. L’avant-garde du début du 20e occupe également une place de choix dans la collection Bemberg, avec de splendides dessins (Picasso, Modigliani) et des toiles fauves dues à Derain, Braque et Matisse. La présentation se clôturera sur un extraordinaire accrochage de peintures de Bonnard : avec plus de trente tableaux, le fonds Bonnard de la collection Bemberg est le plus grand ensemble du peintre en mains privées.

Retour en images

Catalogue

Chefs-d’œuvre de la collection Bemberg

Sous la direction de Philippe Cros
Publié en coédition avec les Éditions Snoeck, Gand
208 pages, 24 x 29 cm, 132 illustrations

Affiche

Chefs-d’œuvre de la collection Bemberg

Format mondial F4 (89,5 × 128 cm)
Œuvre : Pierre Bonnard, Marine (détail), sans date
Design graphique : Laurent Cocchi

Documents à télécharger