Chefs-d’œuvre de la collection Bemberg
02.03 – 30.05.2021

In the first half of the year 2021, the Fondation de l’Hermitage has the priviledge to show a selection of the greatest masterpieces from the prestigious private collection of Georges Bemberg (1915-2011). Bemberg was an illustrious collector and man of letters, born to a family of German origin who settled in Argentina in the mid-19th century. In the course of his life he built up one of the most important collections of paintings, drawings and objets d’art of his day.

It is the first time that the collection is shown outside the walls of the Fondation Bemberg in Toulouse, due to major works at the mansion where it is usually displayed. The Bemberg collection is notable for the exceptional quality of both its group of paintings and drawings from the late 19th and early 20th centuries (Fantin-Latour, Pissarro, Monet, Caillebotte, Morisot, Derain, Braque, Matisse, Modigliani, Bonnard and others) and also for its magnificent works from earlier periods, including masterpieces of German, Flemish, Venetian and French art (Cranach the Elder, Gérard David, Veronese, Canaletto, Longhi, François Clouet, Tournier, Vigée Le Brun and others).

The exhibition at the Fondation de l’Hermitage is featuring 132 of the most remarkable paintings and drawings from the Bemberg collection, offering a unique opportunity to admire these treasures outside their usual setting and to explore the interests and personality of one of the 20th century’s great collectors.

Exhibition themes
The exhibition covers over five hundred years of art history, arranged in chronological order. It starts with a room dedicated to Flemish and French paintings of the 15th and 16th centuries, including works by Gérard David, Isenbrandt, Clouet (François and Jean) and Corneille de Lyon. A magnificent group of Italian paintings from the 16th, 17th and 18th centuries offers visitors the chance to admire portraits and landscapes by artists including Veronese, Tintoretto, Guardi, Canaletto. Another high point of the visit is the display of five panels by Cranach the Elder. The section focusing on works from the earlier periods closes in grand style with a selection of 18th century masterpieces by Robert, Vigée-Le Brun and Boilly.

The Bemberg collection is equally noteworthy for its important works of 19th and 20th century art and the exhibition continues with a remarkable group of paintings by Impressionist (Caillebotte, Sisley, Monet, Degas, Toulouse-Lautrec) and neo-Impressionist (Cross, Signac) artists, reflecting Bemberg’s appreciation for these two artistic movements. Another important element of the collection consists of works from the early 20th century avant-garde, with wonderful drawings (Picasso, Modigliani) and Fauvist paintings by Derain, Braque and Matisse. The exhibition concludes with an extraordinary set of paintings by Bonnard, as the Bemberg collection includes indeed the largest group of Bonnard’s works in private hands, with over thirty paintings.

Back in pictures

Catalog

Chefs-d’œuvre de la collection Bemberg

Sous la direction de Philippe Cros
Publié en coédition avec les Éditions Snoeck, Gand
208 pages, 24 x 29 cm, 132 illustrations

Poster

Chefs-d’œuvre de la collection Bemberg

Format mondial F4 (89,5 × 128 cm)
Œuvre : Pierre Bonnard, Marine (détail), sans date
Design graphique : Laurent Cocchi

Documents to download

Chefs-d’œuvre de la collection Bemberg
02.03 – 30.05.2021

In der ersten Jahreshälfte 2021 darf die Fondation de l’Hermitage eine Auswahl der hervorragendsten Meisterwerke aus der berühmten Kunstsammlung Georges Bembergs (1915–2011) bei sich begrüssen. Im Laufe seines Lebens trug der eigenwillige Mäzen und Literat, der aus einer wohlhabenden Familie stammte, die 1850 von Deutschland nach Argentinien emigriert war, eine Sammlung von Gemälden, Zeichnungen und Kunstobjekten zusammen, die zu den bedeutendsten ihrer Zeit zählt.

Normalerweise in einem Stadtpalais in Toulouse untergebracht, kann die Sammlung nun zum allerersten Mal überhaupt – dank grösserer Umbauarbeiten im Museum der Stiftung Bemberg – jenseits der angestammten Mauern bewundert werden. Sie besticht nicht nur durch aussergewöhnliche und hochwertige Gemälde und Zeichnungen aus der Zeit um die Jahrhundertwende – unter anderem von Fantin-Latour, Pissarro, Monet, Caillebotte, Morisot, Derain, Braque, Matisse, Modigliani, Bonnard –, sondern glänzt auch mit Alten Meistern. So darf sie Kunstwerke der deutschen, flämischen, venezianischen und französischen Malerei ihr Eigen nennen, wie von Lucas Cranach dem Älteren, Gérard David, Veronese, Canaletto, Longhi, François Clouet, Tournier oder auch Élisabeth Vigée Le Brun.

Die Sammlungspräsentation in der Fondation de l’Hérmitage zeigt 132 der beeindruckendsten Gemälde und Zeichnungen – eine einmalige Gelegenheit, diese Schätze fernab ihrer angestammten Umgebung zu bewundern und Vorlieben und Persönlichkeit eines der grossen Sammler des 20. Jahrhunderts zu erkunden.

Ausstellungschwerpunkte
Die Ausstellung vereint mehr als fünf Jahrhunderte Kunstgeschichte und präsentiert sich chronologisch. Der erste Saal ist der flämischen und französischen Malerei des 15. und 16. Jahrhunderts gewidmet – mit Werken von Gerard David, Adriaen Isenbrant, François und Jean Clouet oder auch Corneille de Lyon. Im Anschluss gibt es wundervolle Werke der italienischen Malerei aus dem 16., 17. und 18. Jahrhundert zu bestaunen: Portraits und Landschaften von u.a. Veronese, Tintoretto, Guardi und Canaletto. Einen weiteren Höhepunkt des Ausstellungsparcours stellen fünf Ölgemälde von Cranach dem Älteren dar. Bereichert wird der Ausstellungsteil mit den Alten Meistern ausserdem durch eine Reihe von Glanzstücken von Robert, Élisabeth Vigée Lebrun oder auch Boilly aus der Zeit der Aufklärung.

 

Daneben besticht die Sammlung Bemberg auch mit aussergewöhnlichen Werken aus der Zeit um die Jahrhundertwende. Der Ausstellungsrundgang setzt sich mit einem beeindruckenden Ensemble impressionistischer und neo-impressionistischer Malerei fort, mit Grössen wie Gustave Caillebotte, Alfred Sisley, Monet, Degas, Toulouse-Lautrec bzw. Henri Edmond Cross und Paul Signac. Auch die Avantgarde zu Anfang des 20. Jahrhundert kommt nicht zu kurz, ganz im Gegenteil: So gehören auch wundervolle Zeichnungen von Picasso oder Modigliani sowie Gemälde aus dem Fauvismus von Derain, Braque und Matisse zur Sammlung. Letzte Station der Ausstellung ist eine einzigartige Hängung mehrerer Werke von Bonnard: Mit mehr als 30 Gemälden ist die Bemberg-Sammlung Eignerin des umfangreichsten privaten Werkbestands des Künstlers weltweit.

Zurück in Bildern

Katalog

Chefs-d’œuvre de la collection Bemberg

Sous la direction de Philippe Cros
Publié en coédition avec les Éditions Snoeck, Gand
208 pages, 24 x 29 cm, 132 illustrations

Poster

Chefs-d’œuvre de la collection Bemberg

Format mondial F4 (89,5 × 128 cm)
Œuvre : Pierre Bonnard, Marine (détail), sans date
Design graphique : Laurent Cocchi

Dokumente zum herunterladen