Arts et Cinéma
04.09.2020 – 03.01.2021

In partnership with the Cinémathèque Française and Réunion des Musées Métropolitains Rouen Normandie, the Fondation de l’Hermitage is opening a new chapter in its exploration of modern art, looking at the links between fine art and cinema, the great visual revolution of the 20th century.

Adapting an exhibition shown at the CaixaForum, Madrid and Barcelona (2017) and at the Musée des Beaux-Arts, Rouen (18 October 2019-10 February 2020), the show illustrates the mutual influences between film-makers and visual artists, from the early films of the late 19th century to the French New Wave. The Lausanne event will highlight the visual arts, placing film clips, posters and models in dialogue with sculptures, drawings, photographs and paintings of the highest quality, and setting up entirely new resonances between works by major figures including the Lumière Brothers, Fernand Léger, Fritz Lang, Charlie Chaplin, Pablo Picasso, Luis Buñuel, Nicolas de Staël and Jean-Luc Godard.

Exhibition themes
The exhibition has been developed from an original idea by Dominique Païni and is arranged chronologically, illuminating the dialogue between art and cinema through the following themes: Before cinema; The Lumière Brothers and Impressionism; Chaplin and Cubism; Formal Rhythms; German Expressionism; Russian Expressionism; Surrealism; Filming Art; Modern Waves; Political Cinema.

Back in pictures

Catalog

Arts et Cinéma

Sous la direction de Sylvie Wuhrmann et Dominique Païni
Publié en coédition avec les Éditions Snoeck, Gand
224 pages, 24 × 29 cm, 200 illustrations
CHF 49.-

Order

Poster

Arts et Cinéma

Format mondial F4 (89,5 × 128 cm)
Œuvre : Mimmo Rotella, La Storia del cinema, 1991
Design graphique : Laurent Cocchi
CHF 20.-

Order

Documents to download

Arts et Cinéma
04.09.2020 – 03.01.2021

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Cinémathèque française und der Réunion des Musées Métropolitains Rouen Normandie eröffnet die Fondation de l’Hermitage ein neues Kapitel ihrer Entdeckungsreise der künstlerischen Moderne und widmet sich der Schnittstelle von bildender Kunst und einer der größten visuellen Revolutionen des 20. Jahrhunderts, dem Film.

Das Projekt, das bereits im CaixaForum in Madrid und Barcelona (2017) und im Musée des Beaux-Arts in Rouen (18.10.2019 – 10.2.2020) zu sehen war, beleuchtet die wechselseitigen Einflüsse zwischen Filmemachern und bildenden Künstlern, von den ersten Filmen gegen Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts bis zur Nouvelle Vague. In Lausanne blickt die Ausstellung schwerpunktmässig auf den Dialog zwischen Filmausschnitten, -plakaten und -modellen und bedeutenden Skulpturen, Zeichnungen, Fotografien und Gemälden. Werke von Fernand Léger, Fritz Lang, Charlie Chaplin, Pablo Picasso, Luis Buñuel, Nicolas de Staël, Jean-Luc Godard und der Brüder Lumière – um nur einige der bekanntesten zu nennen – stehen sich auf noch nie dagewesene Weise gegenüber und erzeugen neue Resonanzräume.

Thematische schwerpunkte der Ausstellung
Für die Ausstellung hat der französische Filmtheoretiker und ehemalige Leiter der Cinémathèque française Dominique Païni Themenblöcke entworfen, die den Dialog zwischen dem Kino und den bildenden Künsten chronologisch nachzeichnen: Avant le cinéma, Les frères Lumière et l’impressionnisme, Charlot et le cubisme, Rythmes formels, Expressionnisme allemand, Expressionnisme russe, Surréalisme, Filmer l’art, Vagues modernes und Le cinéma politique et militant.

Zurück in Bildern

Katalog

Arts et Cinéma

Sous la direction de Sylvie Wuhrmann et Dominique Païni
Publié en coédition avec les Éditions Snoeck, Gand
224 pages, 24 × 29 cm, 200 illustrations
CHF 49.-

Bestellen

Poster

Arts et Cinéma

Format mondial F4 (89,5 × 128 cm)
Œuvre : Mimmo Rotella, La Storia del cinema, 1991
Design graphique : Laurent Cocchi
CHF 20.-

Bestellen

Dokumente zum herunterladen