La peinture anglaise
01.02 – 02.06.2019

The Fondation de l’Hermitage is pleased to present a major exhibition on English painting of the Victorian period (1837-1901). A selection of nearly 60 works, most on show for the first time in Switzerland, will illustrate the diversity and fascinating originality of 19th-century English art. The great upheavals of the Industrial Revolution are reflected in striking genre scenes depicting different facets of modern life in the Golden Age of the British Empire, from the expansion of cities and public transport to the emergence of the middle classes and homeworking. Other artists choose to focus on landscape or portray their ideals of beauty in subjects taken from history and literature.

From Turner to Whistler via the Pre-Raphaelites
The exhibition foregrounds three generations of painters active in the Victorian era, starting with J. M. W. Turner (1775-1851), one of the most celebrated British landscape artists of his day, whose magisterial oeuvre was a forerunner of Impressionism. The focus then shifts to the pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood, founded in 1848 by students at the Royal Academy in London, including John Everett Millais (1829-1896) and Dante Gabriel Rossetti (1828-1882). This group sought to throw off academic conventions, calling for a return to nature and taking inspiration from the Italian Primitives, in accordance with the precepts of art critic John Ruskin (1819-1900). In the 1860s a second generation of artists headed by Edward Burne-Jones (1833-1898), and usually known as the Aesthetic Movement, drew on a wide range of sources, from mediaeval legends to literature, poetry, British theatre and Antiquity. Antiquity was also central to the work of Lawrence Alma-Tadema (1836-1912), who achieved immense success in his own lifetime with his precisely detailed style. The exhibition culminates in a presentation of two singular figures of the Victorian period, James Abbott McNeill Whistler (1834-1903) and John Singer Sargent (1856-1925), both cosmopolitan artists of American origin.

A section on Victorian photography
The loan of a very fine set of photogravures from the Fondation William Cuendet & Atelier de Saint-Prex has enabled us to enhance the exhibition with a selection of works by the most important British photographers of the 19th century, including Thomas Annan, Julia Margaret Cameron, Peter Henry Emerson, Francis Frith, David Octavius Hill and Robert Adamson, Robert Howlett, Henry Peach Robinson and William Henry Fox Talbot. To complete this section we present a portfolio of portraits of Jane Morris, one of the pre-Raphaelite muses.

Prestigious works
The works on display have been lent by major British institutions, including the Tate, the Royal Collection / HM Queen Elisabeth II and the Royal Academy of Arts, all in London, the Ashmolean Museum in Oxford, the Manchester Art Gallery, the National Galleries of Scotland in Edinburgh and the Hunterian in Glasgow.

Back in pictures

Catalog

La peinture anglaise

Sous la direction de Sylvie Wuhrmann et William Hauptman
Publié en co-édition avec La Bibliothèque des Arts, Lausanne
152 pages, 24 × 29 cm, 100 illustrations

Poster

La peinture anglaise

Format mondial F4 (89,5 × 128 cm)
Œuvre : Frederick Sandys, Vivien (détail), 1863
Design graphique : Laurent Cocchi

Documents to download

La peinture anglaise
01.02 – 02.06.2019

Die Fondation de l’Hermitage widmet der englischen Malerei des Viktorianischen Zeitalters (1837-1901) eine grosse Ausstellung. Anhand einer Auswahl von nahezu 60 Werken, von denen die meisten erstmals in der Schweiz zu sehen sind, veranschaulicht das Vorhaben den Reichtum und die faszinierende Originalität des englischen Kunstschaffens im 19. Jahrhundert. Die tiefgreifenden Veränderungen infolge der industriellen Revolution regen zu eindrucksvollen Genreszenen an, die die verschiedenen Facetten des modernen Lebens im goldenen Zeitalter des British Empire zeigen: den Aufschwung der Städte und der öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel, das Entstehen der Mittelklasse, die Heimarbeit. Als Kontrapunkt dazu wenden sich viele Künstler der Landschaftsmalerei zu, während andere historische oder literarische Themen aufgreifen, um ihr Schönheitsideal zum Ausdruck zu bringen.

Von Turner und den Präraffaeliten bis Whistler
Die Präsentation hebt drei Generationen Künstler hervor, die während der Viktorianischen Epoche aktiv waren, angefangen bei J. M. W. Turner (1775-1851), einem der berühmtesten britischen Landschaftsmaler seiner Zeit, dessen meisterhaftes Werk den Impressionismus ankündet. Die Ausstellung widmet sich dann der Bruderschaft der Präraffaeliten, die 1848 von Studenten der Royal Academy in London gegründet wurde, darunter John Everett Millais (1829-1896) und Dante Gabriel Rossetti (1828-1882). Diese Gruppe, die sich von akademischen Konventionen lossagen möchte, preist in Übereinstimmung mit den Grundsätzen des Kunstkritikers John Ruskin (1819-1900) die Rückkehr zur Natur und lässt sich von den italienischen Meistern des 13. und 14. Jahrhunderts inspirieren. In den 1860er-Jahren orientiert sich eine zweite Künstlergeneration angeführt von Edward Burne-Jones (1833-1898) – allgemein als Aesthetic Movement bezeichnet – an unterschiedlichsten Quellen wie mittelalterlichen Legenden, Literatur, Poesie, dem britischen Theater oder der Antike. Letztere steht im Zentrum der Arbeit von Lawrence Alma-Tadema (1836-1912), der dank seines äusserst präzisen Stils zu seinen Lebzeiten sehr grossen Erfolg hat. Als weiterer Höhepunkt werden auch einzelne Künstler des Viktorianischen Zeitalters wie James Abbott McNeill Whistler (1834-1903) oder John Singer Sargent (1856-1925) gewürdigt, zwei kosmopolitische Maler amerikanischer Herkunft.

Eine der viktorianischen Fotografie gewidmete Abteilung
Bereichert wird die Ausstellung durch eine Abteilung, die die bedeutendsten britischen Fotografen des 19. Jahrhunderts präsentiert, mit einem sehr schönen Ensemble Heliogravüren, die aus der im waadtländischen Saint-Prex beheimateten Fondation William Cuendet & Atelier stammen: Thomas Annan, Julia Margaret Cameron, Peter Henry Emerson, Francis Frith, David Octavius Hill & Robert Adamson, Robert Howlett, Henry Peach Robinson oder aber William Henry Fox Talbot. Ein Portfolio mit Porträts von Jane Morris, einer Muse der Präraffaeliten, vervollständigt die Auswahl.

Wertvolle Werke
Die Werke kommen aus den grössten britischen Museen wie der Tate Britain, der Royal Collection / HM Queen Elizabeth II. und der Royal Academy of Arts, alle drei in London, dem Ashmolean Museum in Oxford, der Manchester Art Gallery, der National Galleries of Scotland in Edinburgh und dem Hunterian in Glasgow.

Zurück in Bildern

Katalog

La peinture anglaise

Sous la direction de Sylvie Wuhrmann et William Hauptman
Publié en co-édition avec La Bibliothèque des Arts, Lausanne
152 pages, 24 × 29 cm, 100 illustrations

Poster

La peinture anglaise

Format mondial F4 (89,5 × 128 cm)
Œuvre : Frederick Sandys, Vivien (détail), 1863
Design graphique : Laurent Cocchi

Dokumente zum herunterladen